UNILORIN Vice Chancellor Bags WASU Leadership Award

In yet another testimony to the excellent leadership style of the University of Ilorin, the West African Students Union (WASU), with headquarters in Tema, Accra, Ghana, has conferred the 2013 West African Leadership Award for Educational Development on the Vice-Chancellor, Professor AbdulGaniyu Ambali.

Presenting the Award to the Vice-Chancellor in his office last Tuesday (November 12, 2013), WASU’s Head of Parliament, Mr. Emmanuel Sobio, said that the Award was “in recognition of the achievements of the University Ilorin, which is noted for uninterrupted academic calendar for several years now in a clime of strikes and academic stoppages that marked University system in Nigeria.”

Mr. Sobio said, “Our choice of Prof. AbdulGaniyu Ambali for this award is in recognition of the dedication of a true son of Africa to the development of education not only in his native country, Nigeria, but across Africa, particularly the West African sub-region.

“We decided to confer this honour not just to celebrate the achievements and outstanding contributions of Prof. Ambali, but also to encourage him and his team to do more for Nigerian and African education. He should not relent in his efforts at re-defining academic standards across African Universities.

“Our award is a wake -up call on others to realise that they are being watched. Everyone in public office is being critically monitored and their actions and inactions either good or bad are being scrutinised.”

The West African Leadership Award and Lecture Series, has, since the past 13 years, been organised in Ghana, where the West African Students Union (WASU), its initiator and promoter, has its headquarters.

“The goal is to advance the culture of leadership by example and integrity in the minds of men, by rewarding outstanding leaders with visions for their nations and communities as a way of presenting them as role models to younger generations in line with the constitution and charter of WASU and in the spirit of Pan-Africanism of the first Ghanaian President, the late Dr. Kwame Nkruma,” Mr. Sobio said.

According to the WASU Head of Parliament, “nominations were received from several Universities in West Africa and after close scrutiny by an international panel consisting of very eminent personalities across the sub-region, the nomination of Prof. AbdulGaniyu Ambali stood out.”

In his response, Prof. Ambali disclosed that the University of Ilorin had been collaborating with sister Universities across the globe particularly in Africa

where the University had a memorandum of understanding to promote education exchanges among member institutions. “These exchanges,” according to him, “are aimed at advancing teaching and research development and several staff and students across West Africa are benefitting from them.”

The Vice-Chancellor said, “It is true that though disagreements exist between University workers and their employer, that is the government, over conditions of service, the University of Ilorin had always believed that solution will ultimately require a round-table discussion.

“Strikes disrupt. It is very costly to all parties in the educational sector. Government is not happy while strike lasts. Parents are not happy. Students are idle and, being youthful, divert their energies to unproductive ends.”

The Award presentation was witnessed by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), Prof. Bayo Lawal; the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Management Services), Prof. Yisa Fakunle; the Registrar, Mr. Emmanuel Obafemi; the Dean, Student Affairs, Prof. A. O. Omotesho; and the Sub-Dean, Student Affairs, Dr. A. Yusuf.

Also at the event were WASU Secretary-General, Mr. Bamidele Oladele Babs; the JCC Chairman, Kwara State, Mr. Abdulrazak Jeje and another executive council member, Mr. Olalekan Lawal.

Facebook Comments
The Students Forum NIGERIA | Authoritative Voice of Nigerian Students

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these <abbr title="HyperText Markup Language">HTML</abbr> tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>