RESULTS DELAY: Lagos Assembly Probes LASU

Lagos — Lagos State House of Assembly has instructed  its House Committee on Education, Science and Technology headed by Wahaab  King to investigate the non- issuance of degree results by the Lagos State University, LASU, with a view to resolving it.

In a petition forwarded to the Lagos Assembly, part time students of 2005/2006 academic session from Ikorodu centre of the university, urged the lawmakers to assist them over the non-issuance of degree results by LASU management for Ikorodu campus part time students.

The letter read in part: “Students of Lagos State University, Ikorodu campus who were admitted and graduated between 2005/2006 to 2008/2009 academic session respectively hereby seek for your intervention on the refusal of the management of the institution to issue our result which had been overdue for four years ago.”

The aggrieved students said they needed the results urgently to enable them secure employment for those not yet employed or promoted in their various workplaces.

“We have taken several steps both individually and collectively to get these results but the effort proved abortive,” the petitioners said.

In a related development the House also directed the Committee of Education, Science and Technology to investigate the non-payment of outstanding 18 months salary arrears of the staff of the Lagos State Colleges of Education academic staff union.

The petitioners attached the Memorandum of Understanding signed between the state government and the union on March 22, 2013.

The union therefore sought the intervention of the House in order not to embark on industrial strike action.

The Committee was given two weeks to report back to the House with a comprehensive report.

Facebook Comments
The Students Forum NIGERIA | Authoritative Voice of Nigerian Students

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these <abbr title="HyperText Markup Language">HTML</abbr> tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>