2019/2020 Eagle Scout Scholarships

Applications are currently ongoing for the Eagle Scout Scholarships for 2019/2020 academic session. These Eagle Scout Scholarships are awarded nationally. The scholarship is open to high school seniors for their undergraduate programme in their chosen field and it is located in America. If you are an eagle scout between your senior year of high and junior year, waste no time in applying and get the chance to make money for college. The Eagle Scout Scholarships are of two types. See below for more information

Types Of Eagle Scout Scholarships

Academic Scholarship

This includes a variable number of $3,000 Eagle Scout Scholarships, awarded annually by the National Eagle Scout Association, and a variable number of Mabel and Lawrence S. Cooke Scholarships.

Mable and Lawrence S. Cook Scholarships

The Mabel and Lawrence S. Cooke Scholarships are awarded annually and include four $20,000 Eagle Scout Scholarships (payable at $5,000 per year) and a $48,000 Scholarship (up to $12,000 for four years), as well as different numbers for other.

The National Eagle Scout Association awards up to $700,000 to Eagle Scouts in scholarships based on academic achievement, scouting background, college plans and financial needs.

The latest National Eagle Scout Association Scholarship window will open on August 1, 2019. It will be closed on October 31, 2019. Scholars will be notified by email on July 15, 2020, and funds will be disbursed to Eagle Scouts in the fall of 2020.

Scholarship Worth

NESA aim is to award at least 150 grants ranging from $2,000 to $50,000 per recipient.

Eligibility For The 2019/2020 Eagle Scout Scholarships

In order to be qualified for the Eagle Scout Scholarships, interested applicants must adhere to the following:

  • Applicants must be a member of the National Eagle Scout Association to receive a scholarship. However, you can apply for a NESA scholarship before applying to be a NESA member.
  • Applicants must apply during their senior year in high school, unless the Eagle Scout Review Committee has been held after October 31, 2019, when they are already in the university.
  • Applicants must have a minimum of 1,800 SAT (or 1290 if taken after March 2019) or 28 ACT points to apply. A “super score” can be used to meet this requirement.
  • Eagle Scouts may apply for merit-based NESA scholarships that begin in their senior year of high school and may apply each year until their first year of university.
  • Candidates can not receive a NESA scholarship more than once.

How to Apply

All applications must be submitted online. Hard copies of previous years are obsolete and will not be accepted.

Applications must be submitted at the school Portal

Detail: Academic  Eagle Scout Scholarships

  • Academic scholarships are based on the participation of students and scouts, their academic achievements and their financial needs.
  • Students must apply during their senior year in high school, unless the Eagle Scout Review Board is held after October 31, 2019, and is already attending college. In which case, the application should be done between August and October.
  • Eagle Scouts may only apply once for an academic grant and must do so within the timeframe set forth above.
  • All scholarship applicants must have at least 1800 SAT (or 1290 if they graduate after March 2019) or 28 ACT points to apply. A “super score” can be used to meet this requirement.
  • To receive a scholarship, all applicants must be members of the National Eagle Scout Association. Types of Academic scholarships:
  • Cooke Scholarships ($2,500 to $48,000): awarded based on school attendance and scouting, academic achievement and financial need. Candidates must attain the minimum SAT or ACT score in order to apply.
  • NESA STEM Scholarship ($50,000): annual award to a candidate who has decided to pursue a career in a field related to STEM. Unsuccessful STEM Scholarship applicants will automatically be considered for a Cooke Scholarship worth $2,500 to $48,000, respectively.

Details: Merit Eagle Scout Scholarship

  • Grants are awarded on the basis of the participation of schools and scouts, as well as community services.
  • Eagle Scouts can apply for NESA Merit Scholarships, which begin during their senior high school year, and they can apply annually until the first year of college.
  • Candidates cannot win the NESA Scholarship more than once. Past NESA Scholarship winners can not reapply. Types of Merit scholarships:
  • Hall/McElwain Scholarships ($5,000): awarded on the basis of the participation of schools and Scouts and community services.
  • Robert and Rebecca Palmer Scholarships ($2,500): awarded on the basis of participation in school and scouting and charity work.
  • Bailey Merit Scholarships ($2,000 to $4,000): Awarded based on the participation of schools and Scouts and community services.
  • Michael S. Malone/Windrush Publishing Journalism Scholarship ($2,500): Awarded to a scout for research or to pursue a degree in journalism.

Application Deadline

1st August to 13th October 2019

Facebook Comments
The Students Forum NIGERIA | Authoritative Voice of Nigerian Students

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these <abbr title="HyperText Markup Language">HTML</abbr> tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>